Montefalco rises above the valleys of Clitunno, Topino and Tiber. Its landscape looks from Perugia to Spoleto, and for this reason, since 1568, Montefalco is called the “Balcony of Umbria”.
The city has a long history, but it was with the Roman Empire that the hill was populated and this period remain many archaeological finds preserved in the Museum of San Francesco and in the Cloister of San Fortunato.
During the Middle Ages was Coccorone call while permanently assumed the name of Montefalco in the thirteenth century, during the stay of the Emperor Frederick II of Swabia, perhaps in honor of one of the hawks of the sovereign.
WHAT TO SEE
Church-Museum San Francesco
Palazzo del Comune (XIII-XIV sec.)
Church of S. Lucia (XII sec.)
Church of Sant’Agostino
Church of Sant’Illuminata (XIV sec.)
Church of Santa Chiara da Montefalco
Convent of San Fortunato
Bevagna, formerly known by the name of Mevania, is located in the Umbrian valley, at the furthest reaches of the Martani Mountains.
The first historical records date back to the Roman conquest of Umbria, although traces since the Iron Age have been found. Bevagna, in Roman times, was built on the ancient Via Flaminia, and for this reason he held a central position in the Roman road which determined its prosperity until the third century A.D.
In 1152 Frederick Barbarossa captured and burned, in 1249 was destroyed by the Count of Aquino and in 1375 by Corrado Trinci.
From 1554 to 1860 the city passed definitively under the dominion of the Church of Rome.
In 1825 he receives from Leo XIII the title of city.
WHAT TO SEE
Church of S. Francesco
Anciently called Gualdum Captaneorum, this ancient castle that sits between the Umbrian valley and the Tiber valley watered by the Tiber, was founded in 975 A.D. by the German Count Edoardo Cattaneo.
Due to its strategic geographic position, over the centuries, it was repeatedly fought over by both the towns of Spoleto Foligno.
WHAT TO SEE
The Fortress (XV sec.)
The Nine Castle Route: Pozzo, Cisterna, Marcellano, Saragano, Ceralto, Barattano, Torri, San Terenziano, Grutti.
The castle of Janus, probably owes its name to the Roman deity Janus. The Roman period remains the memory of important necropolis of Montecerreto destroyed.
Subject to ups and downs sometimes the Church sometimes Emperor, towards the end of the twelfth century it passed into the hands of a local feudal family: the Lords Nobles of Janus who subjugated the castles of Montecchio and Castagnola.
During the Republic (1798) and the ‘French Empire (1810-14), the castle was erected in free commune and that degree he was recognized with the administrative reform of the Papal State and in 1860 with the advent Unification of Italy.
WHAT TO SEE
Palazzo municipale (XII-XIII sec.),
Church of S. Michele Arcangelo (XIII sec.),
Church of Madonna delle Grazie (nucleo antico XIII sec., rifacimento 1790)
Ancient cistern of public water
The Municipality of Castel Ritaldi born from the merger of three medieval villages, Colle del Marchese, Castel San Giovanni and the same Castel Ritaldi, where in the eleventh century lived a viscount who exercised administrative powers of a territory called “Normandy” and which included many other nearby castles.
In 1499 Castel Ritaldi saw the visit of Lucrezia Borgia, at that time governor of Spoleto that so wanted to emphasize the loyalty of the castle. In the early 1600s it took place, with the cultivation of the olive tree, the agricultural life.
WHAT TO SEE
Colle del Marchese
Pieve di San Giorgio
Sanctuary of Madonna (Loc. La Bruna)
Sagrantino di Montefalco DOCG
The Montefalco Sagrantino is a native grape variety that is born and grows in the hills of the municipalities of Montefalco, Bevagna, Gualdo Cattaneo, Giano dell’Umbria and Castel Ritaldi. It has a very ancient history, even the historian Pliny the Elder in his Naturalis Historia cites a variety of grape cultivated in the lands around Mevania, ancient notes of Bevagna, but the first official documents date back to 1598.
In the early nineteenth century, the area of Montefalco and surroundings, is mentioned by the historian Serafino Calindri, as the area where they produce some of the best wines of the Papal State and in 1925, the Show wine of Umbria, Montefalco is called the center the most important wine of the region.
During the war years the vine threatens the disappearance, but in the sixties, some winemakers him back in vogue, until 1979 when the Sagrantino di Montefalco obtained the DOC, and then in 1992 to DOCG.
Full wine, alcoholic, strong tannins and persistent.
Color dark ruby
The nose: black cherry aroma, wild berries, earth, red flowers, star anise
On the palate: full, warm and persistent.
Dry Sagrantino: truffle, grilled meats, game, soups, seasoned cheese.
Sagrantino Passito: biscuits, chocolate, aged cheeses.
BEVAGNA / Arte in Tavola (18-20/05)
GUALDO CATTANEO / Porchettiamo (18-20/05)
ALL MUNICIPALITIES / Cantine Aperte (26-27/05)
BEVAGNA / Il Mercato delle Gaite (14-24/06)
MONTEFALCO / I capolavori del Trecento (23/06 – 30/09)
MONTEFALCO / Agosto Montefalchese (1-19/08)
Why Montefalco Wine
Montefalco Wine is the wine tourism portal in the lands f Sagrantino. The wineries of Montefalco, Bevagna, Gualdo Cattaneo, Castel Ritaldi and Giano dell’Umbria, informations on tours in the winery and in the vineyard, tastings and events in the area, all in one site.
Why visit a winery
The vineyards and Sagrantino di Montefalco DOCG, native grape variety, are the dominant feature of this area. Visit a winery means to get to know those who always cultivates the vine and enjoy with all your senses the territory and its excellent products.
News: MTV Experience
Montefalco Wine and Wine Tourism Movement of Umbria show “MTV Experience”: a package that includes a visit to the winery and wine tasting. A unique experience, a journey in taste and in places where does the Montefalco Sagrantino DOCG.
Talk to our experts
Are you planning a trip to Umbria? Do you like to visit the Sagrantino area and look for advice on winery tours, tastings or events going on? Please send email at firstname.lastname@example.org